John 7: 1-24

John Chapter 7: 1-24

 I found this passage kind of aroused my curiosity about how Jesus grew up and how he was with his brothers. I mean…if I had to believe that my brother was actually conceived by the Holy Spirit and was the son of God….I would probably scoff at him too like…Yeah right! We were born by the same mom, you ate and pooped the same stuff as me…and yet you’re the son of God?? I find it interesting however that Jesus’s brothers had the intentions of a normal self-seeking human. They urged him to go to the festival so he can become a “public figure” and “prove it to the world” how awesome his miracles are. However, Jesus clearly has different intentions…”I am not teaching my own ideas, but those of God who sent me…Those who present their own ideas are looking for praise for themselves, but those who seek to honor the one who sent them are good and genuine.” I feel Jesus’s genuine intentions from this passage. Despite the fact that He might get killed, Jesus goes to the festival and preaches God’s words so that many can be saved. I hope that I can always have the genuine intentions of Jesus…when I am praying out loud that I pray to God and not for other people…when I talk about God’s Word I will talk about it not to make myself sound more knowledgeable but to give others a greater understanding of His Word.
What do you think of this passage? 🙂
3 thoughts on “John 7: 1-24

  1. That’s a really good point! I love how Jesus says, “My time is not yet here; for you any time will do.” He was clearly honoring God’s purposes. That the Father would be glorified in the Son. I find myself being just like Jesus’ brothers sometimes…wanting to seek my own glory and not giving glory to the One who’s worthy of it all.
    Great post Jean! Good reminder to always check my motives.

Leave a Reply

