John Chapter 4: 1-45

Reflection time! I’m currently emailing my reflections to our CMDA faculty. It’s a way she thought she could encourage the girls in our group to read the Word despite our busy schedules.
I read John 4:1-45 today.
What really struck me from this passage is that Jesus calls his food “is to do the will of Him who sent me and to finish His work.” If I were to always remember and live out God’s Will it would be so much more substantial for my spiritual/inner health than anything else I try to fill myself with everyday. I keep reminding myself that I came to to this school for a reason, and isn’t my own will that brought me here. And in that truth I need to find a security that my non-Christian friends can be attracted to.
Another passage that struck me was when Jesus states, “God is spirit, and His worshippers must worship in spirit and in truth.” I am so so thankful now that I have that access…that ability to worship with Him in spirit….not on a special mountain/city…or not because I’m a Jew. I am able to worship and fellowship with Him because of what Jesus did on the cross.
What has struck you this week as you have done your QT? πŸ™‚
Prayer request: We have a test coming up soon. Prayer is desperately needed. Prayer for my sister and my boyfriend to find Β a job. Prayer for me to be more frequent in my QTs. Prayer for me to meet with God daily and represent in everything that I do. Prayer of thanks for I am loving the people I meet and the friends I have here. Prayer of thanks for my boyfriend who has been a huge support for me even when I’m locked in my room and studying.
6 thoughts on “John Chapter 4: 1-45

  1. That is so true! It’s thanks to Jesus we have that access. πŸ™‚
    I read Psalm 44 today. I cannot relate to the theme of innocent suffering (since most of my sufferings seem to stem from my sins haha), but the greater theme of God’s sovereignty and His unfailing love was reassuring and convicting! Though sometimes He seems to be “sleeping” (ie. unresponsive), even these “silences” are all working towards His glory. I especially liked how D.A. Carson (in For the Love of God) referenced the New Testament example of Jesus sleeping in the boat before He got up and calmed the storm. Relating Old Testament and New Testament verses to each other makes it so much cooler for me. ^^

Leave a Reply

