Holy Grail

So this has been the end of two weeks of real medical school…and I hate to say it but I’m real nervous. We take these quizzes called “formatives” which is supposed to test us to see whether we learned that week’s material. Sadly I haven’t been doing so well. The first one I don’t mind since I didn’t study for it at all. Second week the problem for me has been that I’ve been juggling to take notes in evernote, growly, quizlet, cmap tools, ppt, and word documents. There’s so many programs out there that I don’t know which one is best for me! And it’s hard too because I feel like one program might be good for one subject but I feel like the other program is good for the other subject. Anyways half of my time I’m struggling trying to organize my notes into all these different things that I don’t feel like I learned anything. I learned from a peer how to work on Growly today so crossing fingers that I’ll be much more prepared for next week.

Besides med school (which has been a big chunk of my time/life), I wanted to do another quick beauty post about my holy grail (HG) products. Products become holy grail when:

1) The product works so well for me that I don’t find a need to purchase several products of the same category. (i.e. I don’t have to buy multiple eyebrow products) OR

2) Despite having several products in one category, I tend to gravitate to one product. OR

3) I can’t find anything else quite like it and I enjoy using it alot.

holy grail

L to R: Aveeno tinted moisturizer, Covergirl Outlast Stay Fabulous Foundation, Revlon Photoready concealer, Maybelline instant age rewind eraser dark circles, Clinique brow shaper, NYX slide-on pencil, and Wet n Wild primer.

I’m sure you’ve seen me talk about all of these products so I won’t go into great detail. These are the categories in beauty that I feel like is boring to purchase so I usually stick to one product unless I don’t like it. I went through a phase of trying BB creams, foundations high and low end, etc. but now that I’ve found the one that works best for me…I have ceased to care about other foundations. The same for the rest of them…even if I had other products within the same category they’re hiding in my stash somewhere cus I don’t really use them anymore. I’ve wasted so much money on purchasing cream eyeliners (refer to my eyeliners I won’t repurchase post) that I’m finally glad I’ve found one that’s right for me…and I’m gonna stick to it. These products are in my everyday makeup stash.

As you can see I tend to use the same thing for my face foundation because if a product doesn’t break me out and I adore the finish, lasting power, etc of it then I just stick to it. I’m afraid of breakouts so I don’t venture out that often in these products. In this way I feel like the face products in the picture above are also HG because there is nothing quite like it for my face.

This is unlike the following categories: blush, bronzer, eyeshadow, liquid liner, highlighter, etc. These products I tend to buy several of them since each can give different finishes, colors, textures, etc to my face. And these you may see more often in my monthly favorites (which I want to do). But if I never show foundation, concealer, brow, eye primer, etc in my monthly favorites it’s probably because I’m using these all the time. If I ever do try other things that replace my HG I will definitely let you know.

Edit: I realize I never talked about why I did end up liking the Clinique brow shaper. It doesn’t take alot of powder to fill in my eyebrows and yet it gives Ā a soft, natural look to my eyebrows. Lasts a decent amount of time without any brow gel. šŸ™‚ At first I just had issues with it because you gotta rub the powder a little vigorously at first to break into the powder. I don’t have to rub vigorously anymore though after that first time.

 

4 thoughts on “Holy Grail

  1. I can’t seem to stop hearing the Jay Z song whenever I hear the phrase “Holy grail”
    lol
    Why do you like the Nyx slide-on pencil?

  2. I’ve been using the Aveeno cleanser…and honestly I haven’t noticed a major difference with it. I think my skin is too sensitive. I still love my AcneFree Gentle Acne Scrub…but they stopped making it..so sad.

Leave a Reply

