Milani Lippies!

Hello! I haven’t been on this blog for a bit and I was itching to write here again! This past weekend I had my white coat ceremony…and I have to say is I feel truly blessed. Our school is somewhat unique in that we created our own oath…which helped me remember what exactly I was promising in my oath. I hope that I will become a worthy physician…one who upholds the promises she made during the beginning of her medical career. Next week we’ll be starting “real” school…Eek! Need to prepare myself stat!

Anyways today I wanted to review some lippies I’ve been collecting over the past few weeks:

milani1

Milani Color Statement Lipstick L to R: Naturally Chic, Fruit Punch, Best Red, and Nude Creme. Overall these colors may need a bit of lipliner to may the colors apply nicely on the edge of your lips…ESPECIALLY the red (which I will talk about later). Overall I love the line and here’s why:

milani2

Swatches in the same order. Brownish red, warm pink, classic red, and pinky nude

milani3

Here I am wearing Fruit Punch. I love this color…I think the combination of this lipstick with Mac’s Pink Lemonade lipglass is amazing. However, in this picture I just have the lipstick on. It has just enough warmth in the lipstick to make it more wearable on my skin tone. The lipstick is creamy with a cream finish. Though these lipsticks don’t make my lips peel…I feel much more comfortable wearing these on top of a lipgloss. For this color although lipliner would be nice I don’t think it’s absolutely necessary.

milani4

Nude Creme: This lipstick is a pinky nude with a cream finish. I would say it has the general color idea as L’oreal Fairest Nude color. Unfortunately like most nudes, this color doesn’t look very appealing on my skintone without some colored lipgloss. The consistency is creamy and applies easily on the lips. I would apply some nude lipliner to fill my whole lips and especially outline the edge so that I get an clean and even opaque nude finish.

milani5

Naturally chic: It’s a cream finish with a nice creamy consistency. This is my everyday color. I top this lipstick with Mac’s Lust lipglass and the combination is very work/prof school appropriate. I don’t think this lipstick requires lipliner and it’s the most hassle free application because of it. (This may also be because it’s the closest to the color on my own lips). The color applies well with just one or two layers. This is the first color I purchased and because I liked this one so much I ended up getting the other three.

milani6

Best Red: Thought it’s a pretty bright red color, this is my least favorite of the bunch. Unlike it’s name, it’s not the best red lipstick I own. It’s matte with more a stiff texture and thus the color is a bit difficult to apply. Also, if you accidentally get this outside your lips you’re screwed because it’ll stain red rather quickly. If you kiss someone the lip color will get all over them and it has a lot of transfer. I would try tissue-paper-blotting technique so it becomes more of a stain. I would also use a lipliner and lip brush to apply this color…thus making it the more bothersome lipstick to deal with. The formula is the most drying of the bunch…but not to the point of significantly peeling my lips. It just makes the inner part of my lips a little more crackly looking if I don’t apply lipgloss with it.

Out of all the shades I recommend Fruit Punch and Naturally Chic. Which colors do you like from the line?

Leave a Reply

