Skincare Routine

After my friend Cat saw my blog she asked, “You should talk more about the stuff you love!” So here I am fulfilling her request. I guess I’ve been blogging more about things I dislike because I’m tossing them at the moment…so here’s a change and today’s favorites will be my favorite skincare routine! Though skincare regimen needs to be customized to your skin type, preferences, etc. …I hope that these products can help you find your perfect skincare routine! Finding this routine has helped my skin immensely! In high school/ college I really had atrocious acne because 1) I didn’t know how to balance out my skin. It’s important to keep your skin clean but also keep them nice and hydrated so that you don’t over irritate your skin causing more acne 2) I made poor eating/ drinking choices (which I will talk about in detail later) and 3) stress/hormones/etc. Number three types of acne I unfortunately do still experience but some of these products really help with acne and scars.

skincare

Top left corner: 1) Shiseido Skincare Cleansing Massage Brush: love to use this product every other day to exfoliate my skin. The brush really helps with small pimples/bumps you have on your face, exfoliation (so brightens up your face and makes it look more youthful), and is perfect for deep cleaning. I use this product in combination with 2) Neutrogena Clear Pore cleanser/ mask. This product is amazing…I realize years after using several face products that I’m allergic to salicylic acid and it actually break me out more. However, this product contain benzoyl peroxide which is more effective for my own skin. You need to be careful not to put this product too near your eyes cus they will burn (and somehow I often have this problem…). Overall the best face wash for me from the drugstore. I use both of these products at night. The brush every other night and the cleanser every night.

Top right corner: 1) Aveeno smart essentials night moisture infusion: This product like I mentioned in the empties blog post, is the best moisturizing facial cream that doesn’t break me out! And I’ve tried expensive products from Kiehls and Origins and they all break me out. So yay for Aveeno! 2) Korres wild rose and vitamin C Advanced Brightening Sleeping Facial: though it’s a hefty price (48 dollars) this mask is amazing at brightening your skin, clearing fresh blemishes, and overall improving your skin complexion. My skin looks and feels amazing when I wake up in the morning.This facial isn’t necessarily moisturizing however, so sometimes I do have to add moisturizer on top of this product. There’s a tightening/tingling feel that occurs for about the first five minutes when you put this on. I would definitely repurchase this despite the big price tag…I also want to try the moisturizer version of this product however because it’s only 35 dollars. These two products I apply right before I go to bed every night.

Bottom left hand corner: Toners! I have never really us ed toners in my life until recently, and only now do I realize how nice they can be to your skincare routine! In the wintertime when I’m not too oily, I can get away but just applying Tea Tree Toner from Lush all over my face and then applying tinted moisturizer. The toner is great at mattifying my skin and I think helps prevent future breakouts. 2) The Boots Expert Sensitive Gentle Refreshing Toner is great at just what it says…calming my skin when it feels irritated and sensitive. I use this after I wash my face with the Neutrogena face wash and it really calms my face from any harshness from it. None of these toners however are great at removing makeup but I don’t use these for that purpose anyway.

Bottom right hand corner: 1) Aveeno tinted moisturizer: as I have mentioned in my empties blog I love this stuff…especially in the winter. I realize at the moment I’m too oily to use this in the summer for at the winter it is the perfect moisture I need to keep my face looking luminous. The moisturizer does improve my skin tone it smooths out any unevenness on my skin with light coverage. Love! 2) During the summer I’ve been using Aveeno’s positively radiant daily moisturizer (SPF 15) to block the Texas sun and to protect my skin since I do use a face wash with benzoyl peroxide. Since my skin has been pretty good recently I usually can get away with just using this moisturizer and lightly powdering my face with either a powder foundation (Benefit’s Hello Flawless) or a setting powder just to mattify my face. I also use this product under my current favorite foundation (Covergirl Outlast Stay Fabulous foundation in medium beige) for added moisture and SPF in the summer.

Oh and I almost forgot! Personally, I break out more if I drink caffeinated products so I quit drinking coffee…at least for now D:. Caffeine has other bad side effects for my body which I can’t figure out at the moment but basically I am convinced that staying away from coffee has helped my skin alot. Also eating healthy Korean food with vegetables and fruits also helped my overall weight/acne/lethargy I felt in college. Yay to healthy choices in eating.

2 thoughts on “Skincare Routine

Leave a Reply

