Empties

This past weekend I went to the mud and foam fest race in Arlington with a couple of friends and it was SO MuCh FUN!! I was in quite a lot of pain though afterwards because I didn’t sufficiently train myself for the race >.<. There was a three story high foam slide we went through at the end of the race. It was scary but it was reallly fun. We also got a BUNCH of free stuff from the race like a beer glass mug, granolas, free Mike’s lemonade, coconut water, etc.

Today I wanted to talk about my recent empties…or makeup/skin products I’ve used up over the past year? I get a little bit annoyed with current youtube empties videos because I want to see more people use up their makeup products than bath/shower/hair products…But I guess it’s hard since most people keep buying more and more makeup so they can constantly review things.

IMG_0468

Starting from the back that black tube is the Mac slimshine lipstick they discontinued several years ago? This was the first Mac product I bought because My convinced to buy some at an outlet store that sold discounted makeup. I did not like these lipsticks unfortunately. They slip and slid all over my lips and this particular one melted like no other although I didn’t even leave it in my car. By the time I tried using it all up some of the product just slid off the lipstick. I will be glad to give that one Back to Mac.

The next lip product there is the Fresh lip balm original. I used it until I couldn’t pull it up any further. I do enjoy this  lip balm but I don’t think it’s hydrating enough for me to use if I need some major lip transformation.

Right next to the lip balm is the Mac defiantly feline liquid eyeliner. I used a couple of these up before too but I didn’t know about the Back to Mac until after I threw them away >.<. This particular shade I absolutely love and that’s why I continue to buy it although I see a bit of flaking by the end of the day. The other con about this products however is that the tube keeps breaking on me after I use them a long time…which causes the eyeliner to dry up faster inside I think? Though it took me I think almost a year to use this particular bottle up.

I used up two mascaras: Maybelline falsies mascara and Benefit bad gal mascara deluxe sample. The maybelline falsies formula was too wet for my taste and didn’t hold my curl. The benefit bad gal seems to hold up my curl just fine for a couple of hours and then they stop curling after that. Both I didn’t particularly love.

My favorite brand for skincare is Aveeno as you can tell from my empties. I’m almost out of another of those Aveeno tinted moisturizers in medium. They are amazing at evening out my skintone and giving my face a luminous glow. I think the soy products in it actually do improve my skin. Next are the Aveeno smart essentials nighttime moisture infusion moisturizer. This I use before I go to bed. Though the smell of it at first I thought was too strong, now I’m so used to the scent I can’t even smell it anymore. After I had used the first jar up so fast I thought I might try different night moisturizers. I’ve tried Kiehls, Origin, etc. but they all broke me out. Aveeno…thank you for making amazing products that work and don’t break me out.

Last two items are powder products. The smasbox palette I had above looked like the current Smashbox fusion soft lights except mine had shades of pink. I did the powder quality was quite nice but this was also one of my first makeup products I’ve received from my aunt and I didn’t know really how to use it. Before I knew it the powder was getting so old they all shattered on me. Next to it is the Rimmel stay matte powder in silky beige. I realized this shade was too light for my skintone but I do enjoy this powder ALOT. It’s one of the few powders that give me great coverage and controls my oil all day. I realized however that the packaging is cheap and the one I have above in the photo didn’t have alot of products compared to the one that I’m currently using. I used the powder really fast and once I hit pan the edges all broke apart and shattered once I dropped it (I also blame it on the cheap packaging :P).

So the products I will keep repurchasing are: Rimmel stay matte powder, Aveeno skin care products, Defiantly feline eyeliner, and maybe the Fresh sugar lip balms.

Leave a Reply

