Stress

“A relaxed attitude lengthens life; jealousy rots it away.”

-Proverbs 14:30

“The life of the godly is full of light and joy, but the sinner’s light is snuffed out. Pride leads to arguments; those who take advice are wise.”

– Proverbs 13: 9-10

“Work hard and become a leader; be lazy and become a slave.”

– Proverbs 12:24

“Deceit fills the hearts that are plotting evil; joy fills hearts that are planning peace.”

-Proverbs 12:19-20

I need to meditate long and hard on God’s Word this weekend. I’m afraid I’m regressing back to my self before I became saved.

I find it difficult to find it sometimes to glorify God in my workplace. Recently a new stressor has been my coworker. I feel like she does less work than I do. I also think I’m more willing to help her than she is. I’ve been staying awake at night feeling…cheated? But I haven’t been giving this up to God because I feel like He’ll call me to do what I don’t want to do. And so I’ve been losing sleep being sinful. Then a Bible verse in Proverbs came up in my mind this morning…”Deceit fills the hearts that are plotting evil; joy fills hearts that are planning peace.” It is so relevant to my situation right now.

My life is not my own. I’m just a servant of God and my job…my future…are only instruments that should channel my efforts to glorify God. I’ve been feeling miffed because I felt that my coworker is too prideful to do things for me when I’m prideful too. That’s why I’ve been making a record in my head of the fact that she’s helping me less than I am. And that’s why I was thinking…I’m better than being her tool. How messed up is my thoughts right? I mean I shouldn’t be a pushover but maybe I’m thinking about it the wrong way. Maybe it’s just that I’m not being generous in my love for others. And so what if I do do more than my coworker? I’ll be gaining more from the workplace.

I think I’ll just have a talk with her if I need to next week. I’ll need to pray that God changes my heart. Any suggestions on how I should deal with this situation?

 

2 thoughts on “Stress

  1. Isn’t it amazing when God speaks and we listen. On the Bible app, I was reading the verse for the day…and it was from The Message. I loved it, so I just started reading the whole chapter. Later God was telling me to read your blog and guess what came to my mind.

    “Let me tell you why you are here. You’re here to be salt-seasoning that brings out the God-flavors of this earth. If you lose your saltiness, how will people taste godliness? You’ve lost your usefulness and will end up in the garbage. Here’s another way to put it: You’re here to be light, bringing out the God-colors in the world.” –Matthew 5:13-14

    “If someone drags you into court and sues for the shirt off your back, giftwrap your best coat and make a present of it. And if someone takes unfair advantage of you, use the occasion to practice the servant life. No more tit-for-tat stuff. Live generously. You’re familiar with the old written law, ‘Love your friend,’ and its unwritten companion, ‘Hate your enermy.’ I’m challenging that. I’m telling you to love your enemies. Let them bring out the best in you, not the worst. When someone gives you a hard time, respond with the energies of prayer, for then you are working out of your true selves, your God-created selves. This is what God does. He gives his best–the sun to warm and the rain to nourish–to everyone, regardless: the good and bad, the nice and nasty.”
    –Matthew 5:40-45

    By the way, I loved Proverbs 12:24 πŸ™‚ I needed to hear that. No use in wanting to be leader if you don’t plan to work hard.

  2. Aw thanks Mel for the encouragement. πŸ˜€ ❀ i really like the message version of these passages too :D. Yes no more tit-for-tat…still struggling with the idea but hopefully God will help me

    Aw Mel you work hard! You can tell by your grade in immuno πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

