Drawing Blood

Today I went to the Vietnamese health fair to draw blood as a volunteer. I decided to take a Sunday off to do this, because they were in need of phlebotomists. I was there at the fair from 9-5. I did get free pho to eat and the afternoon was a lot less busy. I must have drawn blood for 25-30 people. Some of the people drawing blood were nurses, but most of them were medical students who had just as much experience as I did…which is not much. Albert let me practice on him…which was nice. His veins were nice and juicy so they were pretty easy. The easiest people to draw blood from were younger men. Drawing blood from young women could be difficult…but the most difficult patients where the elderly. I really pray that all of them were all right. I tried to use my manners and smile to ward off any hard feelings they’ll have for me after I draw their blood >.<. Though I haven’t drawn blood in a while, they were very trusting. In some sense, I feel so bad that they were trusting because I’m not sure if I even did that great of a job drawing blood. But everyone needs to start from somewhere right? I realized that the more confident I was, the better I drew the blood. If I missed one, then I missed several in a row. I pray that God would foster in me some confidence…not arrogance that comes from myself but a confidence that comes from trusting in God and His goodness.

Albert and Dr. Son Do seemed to appreciate my help..which is nice cus I was really down for I felt like I could have done a better job.

The good thing is that God gave me this opportunity to encourage and push me in the path I feel that He has chosen for me. And thanks Melissa for letting me volunteer with you šŸ™‚

And this Saturday I made this pretzel knot recipe I found at foodgawker.com

Not bad huh? It was pretty easy recipe.

 

 

I don’t why I’m so quick to anger…and so petty. Lord please help me to love others just as You love us.

 

 

Leave a Reply

