Back at home

This summer has been such a crazy one. I studied for the MCATs, went to Korea, went to work, and formally introduced Harry at home to my family. I miss Emory and the college life very much. Work can be enjoyable but also stressful. I’ve learned how to do PCRs, DNA extraction, Western blotting, cryosectioning, cell culture, registering/taking pictures of organs, and handling mice. Soon I’ll be learning how to use confocal microscopy to see the cryosectioned tissues I believe. Handling mice gives me joy but also sadness. I very much enjoy caring for the mice…giving them food, moving them to new cages, etc. At first my hands started trembling at the prospect of cutting their tail and ears. Now I’m not as scared. However, I still do not look forward to removing their eyes to draw blood. I dissected a mouse this week, but I wasn’t quick enough to remove their hearts when they were still beating. All in all, the benchwork has not been out of my comfort zone. These new techniques I’m learning such as imaging, staining, and handling mice have been a bit more challenging. I’m a little discouraged right now about making slides with the cryostat. I was cranking those tissues embedded in OCT for four hours and I could only get two ok slides. My boss wants me to practice more, but I don’t know how I can possibly “practice” my way to get better. The slides have to be 4 microns thick! 10 microns wasn’t that bad but 4 can be verrryy difficult. The thin tissue piece can easily break or rip. I may have to consult someone else to see how they can expertly do this sort of thing.

I’m so thankful to God though that I got a job when obtaining one can be quite difficult. When I time left from arriving to work early, I usually take out my Bible from the car and start reading. Starting the day with the Lord gives my heart a lot of peace when I feel unconfident and scared about my ability to perform well in my work. God’s grace amazes me every day.

I should be studying to retake my MCATs, but there’s so much I wanted to do when I had free time! Such as karaoking still I croak, watching endless movies, reading novels, completing a puzzle, playing the piano, etc. I should go back in the groove of studying though. Lord help me.

 

Leave a Reply

